My Ten Favorite Hip Hop Verses Of All Time(Not in order)

I’ve been listening to hip hop since I was a baby. I started understanding the lyrics when I was around 3 years old in 1993. Over the years I have become a die hard hip hop fan and have literally listened to over 100,000 songs at the least. I’ve developed favorites in every aspect of the genre and today I’m going to list my favorite hip hop verses of all time. I love so many verses so it was difficult to compile this list but I finally got it together. There was no way that I could order these verses so I’m just listing them in random order. There is something about verses in hip hop that affect the human ear differently than any other genre of music. It is poetic in nature and can be deciphered in different ways depending on who’s listening to it. These are my personal favorites:

Lauryn Hill’s verse on “The Fugees – Ready or Not”

I play my enemies like a game of chess, where I rest,
No stress
If you don’t smoke sess, lest.
I must confess, my destiny’s manifest
In some Goretex and sweats I make treks like I’m homeless
Rap orgies with Porgy and Bess,
Capture your bounty like Elliot Ness, YES
Bless you if you represent the Fu
But I’ll hex you with some witch’s brew if you’re Doo Doo
Voo Doo,
I can do what you do, easy, BELIEVE ME
Frontin’ niggas give me hee-bee-gee-bees
So while you’re imitating Al Capone
I’ll be Nina Simone
And defecating on your microphone.

Khujo Goodie’s verse on “Goodie Mob – Cell Therapy”

When the scene unfolds
Young girls thirteen years old
Expose themselves to any Tom, Dick, and Hank
Got mo’ stretch marks than these hoes
Holla’n they got rank
See Sega ain’t in this new world order
Dem experimenting in Atlanta, Georgia
United Nations, overseas
they trained assassins to do search and seize
Ain’t knocking or asking
Dem coming for niggas like me
Po’ white trash, like they
Tricks like her back in slavery
Concentration camps lace with gas pipes lines
Inferno’s outdoors like they had back
When Adolf Hitler was living in 1945
Listen to me now, believe me
Later on in the future look it up
Where they say it? Aint no more Constitution
In the event of a race war
Places like operation heartbreak hotel
Moments tear until air tight vents seat off despair
Dem say expect no mercy
Foot you should be my least worries got to deal with
Where my W-2’s, 1099’s
Unmarked black helicopters swoop down
And try to put missiles in mines

Nas’s 1st verse on “Watch Dem Niggas”

They never realized, how real Nas, is so decisive
It’s just the likeness, of Isrealites mist, that made me write this
A slight twist, of lime rhyme, be chasin down your prime time
Food for thought or rather mind wine
The Don Juan, features the freak shit, my thesis
on how we creep quick, f*ckin your wife that ain’t so secret
It’s mandatory – see that p*ssy, they hand it to me
I got no game, it’s just some b*tches understand my story
There ain’t no drama that my niggaz never handle for me
My gator brand is Maurry, walkin through rough land before me
where the snakes put a smile on they face, hopin and prayin I’m stuck
Scopin they lay in the cut, weighin my luck
Player haters play this in cell blocks and rock stages
Winkin at some females cops with cocked gauges
Really it’s papers I’m addicted to, wasn’t for rap then I’ll be stickin you
The mag inside the triple goose
Face down on the floors, the routine
Don’t want hear nobody blow steam, just cream or it’s a smoke screen
Imagine that – that’s why I hardly kick the braggin raps
I zone, to each his own and this ghetto inhabitant

Freeway’s verse on “What We Do”

We still hustle ’til the sun come up
Crack a 40 when the sun go down
It’s a cold winter
Y’all niggaz better bundle up
And I bet it be a hotter summer, grab a onion
Yes the ROC gets down, you hot now, listen up
Don’t you know cops’ whole purpose is to lock us down?
And throw away the key
But without this drug shit your kids ain’t got no way to eat, huh?
We still try to keep Mom…smilin’…
Cuz when the teeth stop showin’ and the stomach start growlin’
Then the heat start flowin’
If you from the hood I know you feel me
If a sneak start leanin’ and the heat stop workin’
Then my heat start workin’ I’m-a rob me a person
Catch a nigga sleepin’ while he out in the open…and I’m-a get him
We gotta raise our kids while we livin’
Make a million off-a record bail my niggaz outta prison
Fuck a Bentley or a Lexus just my boys in the squadder
Nigga talk reckless then I hit ’em with the Smif ‘n…
But I’m never snitchin’ I’m a rider
If my kids hungry snatch the dishes out ya kitchen
I’ll be wylin’ til they pick me outta line-up…
We keep the nines tucked, chopped dimes up, rap about it
Wild out, f*ck niggaz up, laugh about it
I’m not tryin’ to visit the morgue but Freeway move out ’til I sit with the Lord
‘Til I…get my shit together, clean up my sins
Freeway got it in like 10 in the mornin’
And I can get it to ya like 10 while you yawnin’ mane…
Still deliver the order mane!
And I ain’t talkin’ bout chicken and gravy mane!
I’m talkin’ bout bricks ‘o ye-yo, halves and quarters
4 and a halves of hash you do the math
Swing past us scoop up your daughter
She wanna roll wit’ a thug that rap, you do the math
He won’t blast ’til my stacks in order mane!

Andre 3000’s last verse on “Outkast – Aquemini”

My mind warps and bends floats the wind count to ten
meet the twin Andre Ben. welcome to the lion’s den
original skin many men comprehend
I extend myself so you go out & tell a friend
Sin all depends on what you believing in
Faith is what you make it that’s the hardest shit since MC Ren
Alien can blend right on in wit’ yo’ kin
look again ’cause I swear I spot one every now & then
It’s happenin’ again wish I could tell you when
Andre this is Andre y’all just gon’ have to make amends

AZ’s verse on “Nas – Life’s A B*tch”

Visualizin the realism of life and actuality
Fuck who’s the baddest a person’s status depends on salary
And my mentality is, money orientated
I’m destined to live the dream for all my peeps who never made it
Cause yeah, we were beginners in the hood as five percenters
But somethin must of got in us cause all of us turned to sinners
Now some, restin in peace and some are sittin in San Quentin
Others such as myself are tryin to carry on tradition
Keepin this schwepervesent street ghetto essence inside us
Cause it provides us with the proper insight to guide us
Even though, we know somehow we all gotta go
But as long as we leavin thievin we’ll be leavin with some kind of dough
So, and to that day we expire and turn to vapors
Me and my capers’ll be somewhere stackin plenty papers
Keepin it real, packin steel, gettin high –
Cause life’s a b*tch and then you die

Kurupt’s 2nd verse on “Dogg Pound – New York, New York”

Gimme a couple G’s, for every MC, I knocked to his knees
Verbally useless, oh you got the juice? I squeeze you juiceless
The barbaric, versatile, you’re no kin to me
So how the f*ck you inherit my style?
Now, out the clear blue sky, I can’t deny
Not a day goes by, don’t get high, don’t ask why
Tonight’s the night for me to rip microphones
Into bits and pieces lyrical telekinesis
Gets me into verbally vindictive
Violent vocabulary bobs to existence
Catch me in the pitch black path
I sit and let the sick thought pass through my mental
till I hear an instrumental
And detrimental verbals get to spittin
The highest in intellect, try connectin with the written
Now they faced with the forbidden, vocally chosen
To explore new terrain, then remain unseen, throughout the war
Dips like a low-low, with my verbal fo’-fo’
The cocoa complexion MC with the slow flow
Fo sho’, I takes it to you from the door
Motherf*cker, mentally I go hardcore
I disconnect ya, Kurupt the MC to vocally
bore your whole molecular, structure
Catastrophic, mystic as Mxyzptlk
Hittin MC’s like picks the deadliest lyricist

Big Daddy Kane’s 3rd verse on the OG version of “Raw”

I give a speech like a reverend, rappers start severin’
And in my lifetime, believe I’ve never been beaten
Or eaten, or just tooken’ out
You know, come to think about, I keep emcees lookin’ out
And real nervous, when I’m at your service
So give me that title boy, you don’t deserve this
I work like a slave to become a master
And when I say a rhyme, you know that it has to
Be perfectly fitted, cause I’m committed
The entertainer and trainer and Kane’ll get with it
I go and flow and grow to let you know, I’ll damage ya
I’m not an amateur but a professional unquestionable, without a doubt superb
So full of action, my name should be a verb
My voice will float, on every note
When I clear my throat, that’s all she wrote
The minute that the Kane starts to go on
Believe it’s gonna be smooth sailing so on
As I put other rappers out of their misery
Get em in a battle and make them all history
Rulin’ and schoolin’, emcees that I’m duelin’
Watch em all take a fall, as I sit back coolin’
On a throne, with a bronze microphone
Uhm, God bless the child that can hold his own
‘Cause I get raw!

Inspectah Deck’s verse on “Wu Tang Clan – Triumph”

I bomb atomically, Socrates’ philosophies
and hypothesis can’t define how I be droppin these
mockeries, lyrically perform armed robbery
Flee with the lottery, possibly they spotted me
Battle-scarred shogun, explosion when my pen hits
tremendous, ultra-violet shine blind forensics
I inspect you, through the future see millenium
Killa B’s sold fifty gold sixty platinum
Shacklin the masses with drastic rap tactics
Graphic displays melt the steel like blacksmiths
Black Wu jackets queen B’s ease the guns in
Rumble with patrolmen, tear gas laced the function
Heads by the score take flight incite a war
Chicks hit the floor, diehard fans demand more
Behold the bold soldier, control the globe slowly
Proceeds to blow swingin swords like Shinobi
Stomp grounds and pound footprints in solid rock
Wu got it locked, performin live on your hottest block

Jay-Z’s 1st verse on “Dead Presidents 2”

Who wanna bet us that we don’t touch lettuce
Stack cheddars forever
Live treacherous, all the et ceteras
To the death of us: me and my confidants, we shine
You feel the ambiance, y’all niggas just rhyme
By the ounce, dough accumulates like snow
We don’t just shine, we illuminate the whole show, you feel me?
Factions from the other side would love to kill me
Spill 3 quarts of my blood into the street
Let alone the heat
Fuck em, they hate a nigga loving this life
In all possible ways, just know the Feds is buggin my life
Hospital dazed, reflecting when my man laid up
On the uptown high block he got his side sprayed up
I saw his life slipping, this is a minor setback
Yo, still in all we living, just dream about the get-back
That made him smile, though his eyes said “pray for me”
I’ll do you one better and slay these niggas faithfully
Murder is a tough thing to digest, it’s a slow process
And I ain’t got nothing but time
I had near brushes, not to mention
Three shots close range, never touched me: divine intervention
Can’t stop I, from drinking Mai-Tai’s, with Ty-Ty
Down in Nevada, ha ha, Poppa, word life
I dabbled in crazy weight
Without rap, I was crazy straight
Partner, I’m still spending money from ’88

by Andrew “DaBoyAG” Barnett

About Andrew Barnett

Young writer from Alabama. Music lover and enthusiast. I've been a writer for years now and I write about any and everything. From news and politics to music and sports. Lover of research and learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

